Pulaski Saga Boxed Set #2 (Books 4, 5, & 6) – Local Author – Robert Lackey


Second three books in the Pulaski Saga

By Robert Lackey

Set of three paperbacks with sleeve

In stock


Pulaski Saga Boxed Set #2 includes Kingdoms in the Marsh, Brazen Deceit, and Serpents Compromise, the second three books of the Pulaski Saga.

Kingdom’s in the Marsh – Book 4

Ben and Sonja Pulaski return to South Carolina, in spite of death threats from Jeremiah Williamson, owner of Palmetto Haven plantation. Jeremiah hosts his niece, Lydia Binterfield, cast out from Havre de Grace by her half-brother. Lydia is determined to gain control of her new home, joining Jeremiah in his hatred for the Pulaskis. Sonja finally discovers an end to the nightmare gnawing at her soul. Working with the mysterious Argyle Corporation, Ben continues to ship rice and lumber from Georgetown into the Chesapeake Bay, and find a way to defuse Williamson’s anger, while keeping his real purpose secret. Ben and Sonja move through the centers of slavery under Ben’s guise as a slave trader, while secretly smuggling slaves north.

Brazen Deceit – Book 5

1847. Ben and Sonja Pulaski, a husband and wife team, supported by their sons Isaac and Aaron, steal slaves in the deep south and smuggle them north to freedom Working their barges on the Canal near Havre de Grace, Maryland, the Pulaskis travel between slave state and free state, awakening in them the moral law that outweighs Maryland slavery laws. After gaining the Schooner Raven, their commitment to freedom takes Ben into Washington with a dangerous plan that sends him hiding from the law in Leonardtown, Maryland.

Serpent’s Compromise – Book 6

Ben and Sonja Pulaski, the Maryland husband and wife team stealing slaves and smuggling them north, are joined by their sons Isaac and Aaron in a growing network reaching deep into the south and into Washington. Rage explodes in Congress, in the press and into the streets of America when the grip on slavery tightens under new federal laws, and hatred spills into Bleeding Kansas caused by another failed compromise.

Robert Lackey is a native of Havre de Grace, Maryland. The area is rich in history and watershed culture, reaching back to the beginning of the country. Robert has been a writer, soldier, photographer, and administrator, but always comes back to his writing. Stepping outside of technical writing in 2005, he focused his alternate passion on understanding life along the canal, and the uniqueness of Maryland history. That passion for history evolved into the historical novel “Pulaski’s Canal”, set in 1841 Havre de Grace, published in 2014. He then continued the story within the novel series: The Pulaski Saga.

The novels follow a representative family, from the mid to latter 19th century. The Pulaskis settle along the canal that passes daily between slave and free state, awakening them to the moral quandary of bondage versus humanity. From awakening to action, the husband and wife team face the real struggles of life in the 1800s while devoting more of themselves to helping runaway slaves escape north. As the years pass, their sons and daughter join them in the mission to do what they can, at a time when the country was tearing itself apart over slavery. The series exposes the reader to the actual national histories through the experiences of the Pulaskis. The author challenges the characters within that history by bold adventures, dangers in hate and war, and desperate searches for love, fundamental for a good read.

Additional information

Weight1 lbs
Dimensions8.125 × 5.125 × 2.75 in


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.